Make: ‘Peerie Flooers’ Mittens

I’m going to have to ask for your patience today. Normally we like to share projects when they are totally finished over here on cookquiltmakeandbake, but I’m currently working on a knitting project which is taking slightly longer than anticipated (well, make that a lot longer than anticipated!), but is just too pretty not to share already.

These mittens are from a pattern by Kate Davies, fittingly known as ‘Peerie Flooers’ which (according to the pattern) means little flowers in Shetland Isle dialect, especially fitting as we went on our very own little Scottish Island  adventure to the Isle of Mull with friends this weekend. I found the pattern through Little Cotton Rabbits and bought a copy of my own off Kate Davies Ravelry site which you can find here. At only £2.50 I think the pattern is a real bargain and is surprisingly easy to follow.

This is definitely an adventure project for me as it’s involving many many knitting firsts! The project uses 7 colours of wool (I’ve only ever used two before); a cream colour, a sky blue, a periwinkle blue, a light green, a forest green, a warm yellow and a scarlet. The pattern suggests using Rowan  Fine Tweed yarn in Arncliffe, Bainbridge, Hubberholme, Leyburn, Muker, Nappa and Richmond.  The body is knit on 2.5 mm needles, which are teeeeny tiny, by far the smallest I’ve ever used although I am enjoying how light weight they are.

Aside from the beautiful pattern, (I even love how it looks on the reverse!), I think one of my favourite aspects of the pattern so far is the super soft cuff lining on the mittens. This is knit using a lace weight yarn, I used Rowan Lace in white (and Rowan 4 ply in pure wool for my other yarns, should have mentioned that earlier!), and is cast on using a provisional cast on method. Provisional cast on is another first for me. I did a little googling around and found a pretty useful Youtube video to teach me. For anyone who hasn’t heard of provisional cast on (I hadn’t!), you cast your stitches onto a piece of waste yarn, leaving a row of stitches which can be picked up onto the needle and knit in the opposite direction, which in this pattern allows the lining to be knit seamlessly into the cuff, so no scratchy hem around the wrist.

The only real change I’ve made to the pattern so far is to knit the pattern in the flat, not in the round. I’m still pretty knew to knitting in the round (my only previous knitting in the round project was my mini Christmas mittens) so I didn’t feel quite ready to do many many colours and patterns in the round as well, but perhaps for my next pair I will brave up to it! Don’t fret, I’ll keep you posted.

As you can see from the pictures I have a lot of loose ends to weave in, so I’m going to curl back up infront of the fire with my knitting and enjoy this Island weekend retreat of ours. The scenery is beautiful but the wind is fiercely cold (can you tell from the photo?) 😀

I hope your all having a peaceful weekend too. Has anyone else undertaken any mammoth knitting projects recently? Does anyone else feel like they’ve just mastered one knitting skill and then find their next pattern has a whole heap more challenges?

About Cook Quilt Make and Bake

Hi, I'm Sam, he's Phil. Welcome to our blog where we share our fun down time projects. We're just a young couple, happily cooking, making, quilting and baking our way through life and love. You're welcome to stop by and share the good times!
This entry was posted in Make and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Make: ‘Peerie Flooers’ Mittens

  1. Leandra says:

    I love these! What type and color yarn did you use? The colors are perfect. I would love to try this as my next project. Right now I’m embroidering some dish towels as a bridal shower gift.

    • Hi! I used Rowan 4 ply pure wool. It comes in 50g balls and I used colours: Porcelaine, Kiss, Gerbera, Avocado, Glade, Blue Iris and Sage :D. Embroidered dish towels is such a cute personal gift! 😀 I would definitely give the mittens a go. They are challenging but I am enjoying them so much! 😀 Sam xxx

  2. k.m. says:

    Wow, I am impressed that you’re doing stranded knitting worked flat! I hate carrying floats on the purl side.

    I really love Kate Davies’ patterns, she has a really cute jumper that I’m planning on knitting called Owls. I might do the mittens too, yours are so pretty I want a pair of my own 🙂

    • Hi. I saw the Kate Davies Owl jumper, it is so cute! You will have to let me know how it goes, I might have to give it a try myself. I don’t mind carrying the float on the purl as much as I get annoyed at ladders when I’m knitting in the round. If you have any good tips, let me know! 😀 Sam xx

      • k.m. says:

        For working in the round and not getting ladders, there’s two options. The first one (I haven’t tried it) is to use the magic loop method (a search on google and/or youtube should bring it up), which involves a 40″ long circular needle.

        The one I go for is to move the switch point of the needles every fifteen rows or so.

        Also, blocking usually helps too, especially if you knit with wool or other animal fibres.

        I’ll keep you posted on Owls, I have to finish a project for my aunt first, a jumper 🙂

  3. Pingback: Make: Mr. Moose | cookquiltmakeandbake

We'd love to hear from you....

