Bake: Almond Iced Buttery Cupcakes

I’ve been worrying slightly of late that food blogging might be bad for my health (well, I say worry, it was maybe for about 30 seconds). I figured that the act of blogging has encouraged a dramatic increase in the amount of cake baking that goes on here and in the long term this would almost certainly result in all sorts of cake related medical maladies (not sure what these would be though :D). So it was with great relief and a happy stomach that I realised that there are now no cake recipes on the front page of the blog (I know how did that happen?) which seemed like reason enough to get baking again.

With only the two of us about this week, we decided that cupcakes were the way to go as any spares would freeze really well, so we needn’t worry about chomping through a whole cake before it gets past it’s best. Now, I say we decided on cupcakes, but mid baking Sam decided to spoon a batter mix designed for 16 cupcakes into just 12 rather full cupcake cases, math has never been her strong suit πŸ˜› I’ve added timings for both dainty little cupcakes and deliciously big cupcakes just encase you fancy making some supersize ones too :D.

Almond iced buttery cupcakes (makes 16 cupcakes or 12 muffins)

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

2 large eggs

2/3 cup sour cream (or yogurt)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups plain flour

1 cup caster sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

170g butter at room temperature (12 tablespoons for folks without scales)

For the almond icing:

1 cup icing sugar

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (or flavouring)

1 tablespoon cold water

1) Mix up some wet stuff – In a small bowl whisk together the eggs, vanilla and sour cream until combined. Don’t worry too much if the sour cream goes a little lumpy as these will get worked out in the batter.

2)Β Make some cake batterΒ – In the bowl of your stand mixer, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Next add the butter and with the mixer running on a low speed slowly pour in the egg and sour cream mix. When all the wet mix has been combined turn up the mixer to medium and mix for a couple of minutes until smooth and creamy.

3)Β Ready to bakeΒ – Spoon the batter into either 16 cupcake cases or 12 muffin cases if you fancy some slightly larger treats. Place in a preheated oven at 175ΒΊC (350 F) for 20 to 25 minutes (or as long as 30 minutes if you are making giant muffin size cupcakes) until a light golden brown and a wire skewer inserted into the center comes out clean.

4) Cool and make some icingΒ – While your cupcakes cool on a rack, get a small bowl and mix together all the icing ingredients. The mix should be runny enough to pour off a spoon but still hold its shape. You can easily adjust the consistency with a bit more water or icing sugar as required.

5) Ice your cakes – Set your cooling rack over a baking tin or some foil and drizzle the icing over all your cupcakes, zig-zagging to and fro across each one.

For those of us in the UK this weekend, it looks like we may have to hide from the ice and snow, so definitely a great reason to get in the kitchen and baking. For all you lovely American readers, I’m sure sure some cupcakes would be appreciated by anyone glued to the TV to watch the Superbowl! I’ve tried and still don’t get what’s going on with American Football sadly, a project for another day however; I’m not sure the boss would appreciate me staying up until 4 in the morning before work on Monday to watch. We hope you have a great weekend whatever you end up doing πŸ™‚

About Cook Quilt Make and Bake

Hi, I'm Sam, he's Phil. Welcome to our blog where we share our fun down time projects. We're just a young couple, happily cooking, making, quilting and baking our way through life and love. You're welcome to stop by and share the good times!
This entry was posted in Bake and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bake: Almond Iced Buttery Cupcakes

  1. These look so pretty and delicious. It’s funny, I consider food blogging to have improved my health ten-fold. I eat so much better now. My diet is far more varied and I eat a lot more vegetables πŸ˜€

    • You’re right, we definitely eat a much more varied selection of food these days, having a veg box of things you would never have picked up at the store delivered each week really helps too. Although you definitely have some pretty tasty looking cakes on your homepage at the moment too!

      Phil πŸ™‚

  2. k.m. says:

    I’m American (well, half), and I really don’t understand football all that much either. I can understand the basic things, but I am sorry to say I really don’t know how to explain them to you, aside from six points is a touchdown, and then you can kick the ball for a possible additional point. But there’s another way to score, called a field goal, which is three points. Confused yet? The most important rule though is that there are LOTS of time-outs, good for arguing over calls…and eating I guess!

    The muffins look great, I like to have some stashed in the freezer too, they keep really well. Almond is one of my favorite flavors in foods, and the scent is just divine. I look forward to making them.

    • There really are an insane number of time outs! As soon as they get going everyone stops to have a chat, and then the nice TV people throw up lots of confusing looking charts with hundreds of arrows on screen. I will figure it out one day I’m sure, but until then I’m pretty happy eating cupcakes πŸ˜€ Phil

  3. Leandra says:

    Personally, I think the Superbowl commercials and performances are the best part of the whole thing. Football is boring to watch! ; )

    • I totally agree! Although we don’t we any of the commercials here, it’s shown on the BBC so every 5 minutes when you guys are watching ads we get to watch an English TV presenter try and explain what is going on, with not much success :S Phil x

  4. Food blogging can never be bad for your healthy. Why you ask? Because everything is homemade! Just for that, you’re being healthy. At least that’s what I tell myself πŸ™‚

    And these look amazing! I’m going to have to make one change and put these in the muffin category though, even if it is a cake batter, because I don’t want to feel too guilty when I stuff myself with these in the early morning.

We'd love to hear from you....

