Bake: Blueberry Pound Cake Loaf

I can’t ever remember having blueberries when I was little. I’m not sure if they just weren’t something on my family’s shopping list or if they just weren’t available way back in the day, I am getting on a bit I suppose. That being said, these days Sam and I have a bit of a weakness when it comes to purchasing blueberries for no particular purpose. Spending your summer holidays in Maine where the blueberries are almost as large as grapes can do that to you!

So, it shouldn’t be much of a surprise that we’ve had a punnet of blueberries burning a hole in our fridge all week. On more than one occasion I was rather tempted to just have them as a snack, but I kept telling myself to wait for the weekend when they could become the star of something delicious and baked.

By some miracle they survived all the way until today without being munched. I think a big part of this was that I knew that today our shiny new camera was arriving, a Canon 550D, and we could finally take pretty pictures of our food and craft projects. Our old point and shoot camera has looked sad for quite a while, sporting a band-aid to keep the battery from falling out for at least 18 months, and so the time seemed right for a new toy.

Now to the important business of baking! It wasn’t so long ago I made blueberry muffins, and as tasty as they were I fancied making something a little different today. After all the pumpkin pie and apple pie of last weekend, I figured a huge cake was probably overkill and so eventually plumped on making a loaf of pound cake as it slices beautifully and can keep wrapped in the fridge for a week quite happily.

Blueberry Pound Cake Loaf (fills one 5 cup loaf tin)

Ingredients

150g fresh blueberries

190g butter

3 large eggs

3 tablespoons milk

1 1/3 cups plain flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste (or vanilla extract)

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 pinch salt

1. Egg mix – In a small bowl whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla bean paste until just combined. I love using vanilla bean paste as it leaves the cute little speckles of vanilla all the way though the cake and is miles cheaper than using vanilla pods to do the same.

2. Batter – In the bowl of your stand mixer mix together the flour, salt and baking powder on low speed for 30 seconds to combine. Add in the butter and half the egg mix and mix on a medium speed for a minute or two. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and then add the remaining egg mix. Turn the mixer back up to medium speed for 30 seconds until you are left with a smooth batter. Don’t worry too much if yours looks a little curdled, it will still bake just fine.

3. Blueberries – Fold in the blueberries and scoop the mix into a 5 cup loaf tin which has been lightly greased. Smooth off the top and place in an oven at 175ºC for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer placed into the center of the cake comes out clean. After 25 minutes or so you might want to cover the tin lightly with foil to stop the cake getting too dark.

4. Cool and Enjoy – Once you are happy that the cake is ready, take it out of the oven and leave to sit for 5 minutes in its tin. Turn out onto a cooling rack and let cool completely before slicing and enjoying with a good cup of coffee 🙂 

About Cook Quilt Make and Bake

Hi, I'm Sam, he's Phil. Welcome to our blog where we share our fun down time projects. We're just a young couple, happily cooking, making, quilting and baking our way through life and love. You're welcome to stop by and share the good times!
This entry was posted in Bake and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bake: Blueberry Pound Cake Loaf

  1. I’ve never eaten many blueberries, probably because they are expensive and not indigenous to Britain. This cake look absolutely delicious though!

  2. k.m. says:

    Blueberries are so good. I never let them last long enough to bake with them, but this pound cake makes me want to practice a bit more self-control 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Oh, yum! Thank goodness I’ve got loads of blueberries on hand…

  4. yum! this looks really good. might have to try it next time i have some extra blueberries!!

  5. dorothy kitson says:

    Blueberries see to be quite a recent addition to our fruit bowl like you I love blueberries
    and they do keep quite a while in good condition in the fridge. When I was a girl we used to collect bilberries. I have tried growing blueberries not very successfully
    must try again now I live further south. Will comment further when I have tried your cake
    its usually muffins or a topping for cheesecake.

  6. rena says:

    drool…. looks so good. Maybe my husband will make this for me.

We'd love to hear from you....

